What Does Yin Mean In Astrology

Positive and negative signs are similar to opposite magnet poles in that they both have distinct charges but are neither good nor evil. Fire and air signs Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius, and Aquarius have positive, or yang, polarities. Water and earth signs Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn, and Pisces are yin (negative).

“Positive signs are more self-expressive and focus their energy outward, whilst negative signs are more receptive and focus their energy inside.” Rachel Lang is an astrologer and intuitive healer.

According to Lang, knowing the features of each polarity will help you better comprehend your sign’s distinct aspects as well as how signs interact with one another. Polarities are a broad term that describes how each sign is wired to focus their energy. “Positive signs focus their energy outward and are more self-expressive, whereas negative signs focus their energy within and are more receptive,” she explains. As a result, the extroverted/introverted analogy exists.

To demonstrate the former, Lang suggests that I consider how the elements of air and fire travel outward and catch on. “A single spark of fire can spread swiftly because sound travels through the air,” she explains. These indicators have a tendency to externalize their feelings. “For example, an air sign will need to talk things through or express their opinions externally,” she explains. So, if your chart has a strong positive polarity, you may be more outgoing; however, this isn’t always the case. “Even our introverts born under this sign will find a way to channel their energy,” she says.

Lang goes on to say that positive energy must have a goal and be in motion all of the time. “A fire sign must move, and if it does not, it will feel tight or stuck,” she explains. Negative energy, on the other hand, may be more reactive than positive energy. She describes herself as “more relational, responsive, and reactive to life’s occurrences.”

Simply look at your sun sign, which is the defining point in your chart, to see which polarity is strong for you. If you’re a more expert chart reader, though, Lang suggests comparing the numbers of planets in earth and water signs against those in fire and air signs to discover which is higher.

“You may require more acknowledgment and gratitude for what you provide to the world if you have more planets in favorable signs.”

“You may require more attention and gratitude for what you provide to the world if you have more planets in favorable signs,” she explains. “It’s possible that you have a greater need to express yourself.” On the other side, if you have more planets in negative signs, Lang believes you may be sensitive to other people’s energy and value emotional connection in relationships. She explains, “You need to feel heard and connected.”

In This Article...

What does it mean to have a yin personality?

Passive, negative, dark, earth, north slope, foggy, water, softness, female, moisture, night-time, downward seeking, slowness, devouring, cold, odd numbers, and docile features of things are all Yin traits.

In astrology, what is yin energy?

The polarities Yin and Yang describe an energetic configuration in which one of the two polarities is dominant. Advertisement. The Yin energy is known for being receptive, intuitive, and feminine, whereas the Yang energy is known for being giving, logical, and masculine.

I’m not sure if I’m yin or yang.

If the fire and air signs dominate your birth chart, you are a Yang type according to astrology.

To understand more, take the Psychologia quiz to determine whether you are Yin, Yang, or a mix of both. https://psychologia.co/yin-yang/.

reflux. What she desperately needs is some more high quality yin to nourish her mind and body. This woman would greatly benefit from breathing exercises. I recommend setting two alarms in the morning- one for the time she has to get up, and one for 15 minutes prior. I would have her rest one hand on her chest, and the other on her low belly. I would have her breathe deeply into her low belly first, feeling as her abdomen, and then her ribcage and lastly the top of her chest rise. As she exhales, she would feel the air first be released from the top of the chest, then the ribcage, followed by her abdomen, with her low belly being the last part of her body to release the breath. Such a breathing exercise is very calming for the nervous system and relaxing for the mind. It is also wonderful for promoting blood circulation to help wake up in the morning to get your day started on the right foot. Someone who is yang-dominant like this would also benefit from doing self-massage with natural warm oils. I recommend coconut oil or sunflower oil as both have natural detoxifying properties. Take 15 minutes before or after your shower- depending on how moisturized you want to be- and rub the heated oil all over your body. Spending 15 minutes a day being mindful and loving towards your body can be one of the most powerful forms of therapy- mentally and physically. Just as with anything, practicing these habits of mindfulness can inform all the activities of your daily life, making it easier for you to notice when you’re dissociating from your body or pushing past emotional limits. This connection between mind and body… yin and yang… is the balance that we really need for health and wellness.

So what quality predominates your daily life? Is there a difference between your work days and non-work days? Wherever you see an inequality, you should write an activity into your schedule that will help balance the scales. I recommend actually writing it on your calendar and making this new activity non-negotiable. Over time, these things get incorporated into a routine that is natural and effortless.

Is there a dark side to yin?

The black side represents yin, and the white side is yang. The yin-yang relationship is sometimes depicted as sunlight passing through a mountain and valley. The gloomy part blocked by the mountain’s bulk is known as yin (literally “shady place” or “north slope”), while the brightly lighted portion is known as yang (literally “sunny place” or “south slope”). As the sun moves across the sky, yin and yang progressively swap places, revealing what was previously hidden and obscuring what was previously revealed.

Yin is related with water, earth, the moon, negativity, femininity, shadows/darkness, destructiveness, and night time, and is described as sluggish, gentle, yielding, diffuse, cold, damp, and passive.

Yang, on the other hand, is connected with fire, sky/air, the sun, positivity, masculinity, glowing/light, creativity, and daytime, and is fast, hard, solid, focused, hot/warm, dry, and energetic.

The concepts of yin and yang also apply to the human body. The balance of yin and yang energies inside oneself is strongly tied to good health in traditional Chinese medicine. When yin and yang are out of balance, one of the attributes becomes inadequate or vacuous.

What are the six red flags?

The six even-numbered zodiac signs of Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn, and Pisces are known as negative polarity signs, sometimes known as passive, yin, receptive, or feminine signs.